Unlike many other states across the nation, Florida has what is referred to as a “no fault insurance law.” The goal behind this type of law is to reduce the number of lawsuits occurring between Florida drivers. By requiring drivers to have a minimum amount of coverage, injured victims are covered by their own insurance companies in the event of an accident, regardless of who is at fault for the Sarasota car accident.
To understand further how the Sarasota no fault insurance law works, the following is an overview:
- The Sarasota law requires drivers to carry $10,000 worth of coverage for personal injury liability and $10,000 for property damage.
- The law applies to self-propelled vehicles with four or more wheels that are registered and licensed in the state of Florida.
- Under the law, auto insurance must be carried throughout the registration period of the vehicle.
- Insurance companies are forced to pay out to policy holders regardless of who caused the accident.
- Florida motorists cannot sue the person who caused the accident that injured them because they are covered by personal injury protection insurance, unless the injuries meet a certain threshold.
- This threshold is set by Florida law. Severe injuries, such as losses of major bodily function, permanent injury within a reasonable degree of medical probability, death, significant scarring or disfigurement meet the threshold.
- If following a Florida auto accident this threshold is met, there is a potential possibility for a claim for future pain, costs, and suffering.
If you or a loved one were involved in a Florida auto accident involving personal injuries, it is essential to contact an experienced Sarasota accident attorney immediately to protect your legal rights. A qualified professional can evaluate your accident and determine whether there is potential for a legal claim against another motorist or third party. For more information, complete our online submission form or call our office at (888) 409-3805.