After Florida passed the new Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance coverage laws to eliminate insurance fraud, many are left wondering if it will be harder for victims of Sarasota auto accidents to get compensated for their injuries and damages following a crash.
If you have been injured in a Florida car crash, here’s how the new PIP laws could affect you and make it harder for you to financially recover:
- If you don’t see a doctor within a specified time frame, you may not have access to your benefits. The new law provides only a 14-day window after an accident to see a doctor. If you do not go to a doctor in that time frame, you will not be eligible to receive one penny of your medical benefits.
- It will be harder to get your full amount of coverage. The minimum PIP insurance you are required to carry is $10,000; however, if you get into an accident, the minimum your insurance company is required to pay you is $2,500. You will have to fight to get the additional money that you have in coverage.
- The insurance company has more say in your healthcare. When an accident leaves you injured, the insurance company will now have more say over what treatments you need and what is and isn’t covered. Under Florida’s new PIP law, the insurance company has to indicate that you have an “emergency medical condition” in order to grant you access to your full coverage.
- Insurance companies have the right to delay your medical benefits. Under the new PIP law, insurers have an extra two months to hold your money that is due to you so they can rule out fraud.
Because the new Florida PIP laws will make it harder for injured victims of car wrecks to get their due compensation, victims may have to jump through hoops. For help call a skilled Sarasota auto accident attorney at the Mallard Law Firm at 888-409-3805 today.