Florida Personal Injury Protection Insurance Law Changes
Are you aware of the recent changes to the Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance laws in Florida? The attorneys at the Mallard Law Firm are keeping Floridians informed of the many changes to the PIP law.
- Florida is a “no fault” state. This means that this type of insurance covers you regardless of who is at fault for the accident.
- State law requires drivers to carry their own auto insurance with at least $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP).
- PIP insurance typically covers 80% of your medical expenses and/or 60% of your lost wages.
- Over the past several years, PIP claims have risen substantially due to fraudulent accidents.
- PIP insurance was originally designed to help people get back on their feet after a car accident
OLD PIP LAW:
- No time limit to see a doctor.
- Entitled to lost wage benefits even if you didn’t see a doctor within 14 days.
- $10,000 in benefits was given if injured in a car accident.
- PIP insurance was required to reimburse massage therapists and acupuncturists.
- Less time to investigate fraud
- All clinics must be licensed to bill PIP
- Permanent injury diagnoses not required within 14 days of the accident.
NEW PIP LAW:
- The insured MUST treat within 14 days of the accident to receive ANY money or lost wages from their personal injury protection insurance.
- PIP insurers are NO LONGER REQUIRED to reimburse massage therapists and acupuncturists.
- All clinics must be licensed AND owned by a doctor to bill PIP.
- To receive the full $10,000, the insured must be diagnosed with an “emergency medical condition” (EMC) by a medical doctor.
- If an EMC is not diagnosed by a medical doctor, then the most the insured can receive from PIP is $2,500.
As you can see, a lot of changes have been made to the Personal Injury Protection Insurance Laws. There are many more complex changes that we have not listed. For more information about the new PIP laws, call the attorneys at the Mallard Law Firm, free of charge and without obligation. 941-952-1682.