Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Insurance in Florida
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Insurance
Personal injury protection (PIP) insurance also called Florida No Fault Insurance, generally covers you regardless of who was at fault in the accident for medical expenses and lost wages. It doesn't matter if you cause the accident or not, the coverage will pay up to your limits on your policy.
The Florida Motor Vehicle No-Fault Law requires that all owners who have a motor vehicle registered with four wheels or more to carry a minimum of $10,000 of personal injury protection. Florida law requires that you maintain personal injury protection and property damage liability insurance continuously throughout your licensing and registration.
PIP insurance covers 60% of your lost wages up to $10,000. Generally, it covers 80% of medical expenses up to $10,000 subject to deductibles that you can elect in order to make the insurance less expensive.
Your PIP insurance will also cover members of your household, your child and passengers who are injured and don't have PIP insurance, providing they do not only vehicle. If a person who was riding in your vehicle has PIP insurance here she will receive coverage for injuries under his or her own PIP insurance. This also includes certain licensed drivers who operate your vehicle with your permission.
PIP insurance also covers your children if they suffer an injury while riding on a school bus. The PIP coverage will even protect you if you are writing in someone else's vehicle, as a pedestrian, or if you are a bicyclist who suffers an injury in a crash involving a motor vehicle.
If you have been involved in an auto accident please call the qualified Sarasota accident injury attorneys at the Mallard Law Firm for a free consultation today. You can reach us at 888-409-3805 and receive answers to your legal questions simply by calling today. Also, fill out a form on our website to receive a free copy of our book What You Need to Know After a Florida Auto, Truck or Bike Accident.